Awards Presentation 2018-19

The annual awards presentation for the senior part of the club took place on Saturday 6th April. St Ives gained a bonus point victory in their final home match of the season against Hornets.  This was followed by a hog roast and, in the early evening, the presentations were made.


The club recognises that once a trophy, cup, shield or bowl is returned by the recipient, there is no lasting memento of the award received.  Therefore, recipients from 2018 received there mementos during the presentations, while this year’s winners were given a medal at the same time.


Below is a full list of recipients since 2016, with photos where possible.


  1. Top points scorer for the season
    presented by Cornwall RFU Chairman, Dennis Preece
    2016    Grant Thirlby               240
    2017    Jordan Gott                 251
    2018    Rhys Brownfield           201
    2019    Dan Magee                   160 (received by Tom Nicholas on behalf of Dan)
























2. Top try scorer for the season
presented by Bill Thomas
2016    Martyn Lawrance       21
2017    Martyn Lawrance       9
2018    Pete Mabbott            19 (Photo below)
2019    to be presented later





















3. Secretary’s Cup for the most improved player
presented by Joe Parma

2016    Ben Jenkins

2017    Tom Chandler

2018    Martyn Lawrance (photo below)
2019    Ben Watson





















4. Lions Senior Trophy for the most promising senior player
presented by Joe Parma
2016    Tom Nicholas
2018    Chris Quick
2019    Liam Jolly


5. Chairman’s Trophy with thanks on behalf of the club
presented by Andrew Baragwanath 

2016    Joff Rowe

2017    Jo Stevens

2018    Russell Baragwanath

2019    Bill Thomas






















6. The Sam Perkin Trophy for dedication to St Ives RFC
presented by Danny Perkin 

2016    Jess Tompsett

2017    Steve Kenward

2018    Ben Taylor

2019    Tom Nicholas



7. Pete Burgin Memorial Bowl for commitment to club and training
presented by Ian Deacon

2016    Jamie Prisk

2017    Harry Parton

2018    Pete Mabbott

2019    Jamie Prisk



8. Harry Escott Cup for senior sportsman of the year
presented by Atkins Ferrie Wealth Management

2016    Ben Taylor

2017    Tom Nicholas

2018    Jamie Prisk

2019    Ben Taylor





































9.Senior Players’ Player - presented by Mike Rowe 

2016    Louis Stevens

2017    Sean Stevens

2018    Rhys Brownfield (received by Jamie Prisk on behalf of Rhys)

2019    Ben Taylor



Special certificates from the RFU President were also awarded to:


Geoffrey and Susan Harry for cleaning and tidying the grounds.































Gary Beach for support with flags and post protectors every home game.


Alan Thomas for his dedication in regard to the website and programme.

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 3, 2020

September 27, 2019

September 9, 2019

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Social Icon