top of page
  • Alan Thomas. Photo, Tobi Carver

Team to Face Tavistock announced

The squad for the Match against Tavistock shows a number of changes. A number of players remain on the injured list. However, the return of several 'old heads' should help with direction and sticking to game plan.

The front row of Tony Stevens, Ben Taylor and Jess Tompsett provides a solid foundation. Ben Jenkins gives more than adequate cover from the bench.

Louis Stevens locks along side Jamie Prisk, which should produce a good engine room. Here there is a blend of old(er) and young(er), one who will make a difference in the tight, the other roaming for the opportunity of a ball carry. No Tom Chandler or Luke Collins this week.

The back row consists of Sam Heath at No.8, returning from injury after a run out with the reserves against Hayle. Martyn Lawrance moves to flanker with Cameron Bone. Sean Stevens is on the bench.

Head coach, Paul Thirlby, comes back at 10 to partner Sam Carter. This should afford the avenue for clear decision making that allows the strategy to function, and to move to a plan B if necessary. Grant Thirlby moves out to centre, where he will perform with much greater confidence. Laurie Manna makes his second appearance.

Tom Nicholas becomes available again and should start at full back. Lewis Thomas, with six treis already this season, moves to the wing. Finally, Tom Murray makes his first appearance for the senior team on the wing. Jacob Ninnes provides cover for the back division.

Tavistock will be no push over. They have had a tough set of fixtures in the early part of the season. This will not be their most daunting match to date. St Ives have eased their way in this regard. The next home fixture is against second place Plymouth Argaum. It is important for St Ives to put in a strong performance tomorrow as they persue a bonus point win.

St Ives V Tavistock Saturday 24th October KO 3:00pm

Full Squad

Tony Stevens

Ben Taylor (Capt)

Jess Tompsett

Jamie Prisk

Louis Stevens

Sam Heath

Cameron Bone

Martyn Lawrance

Sam Carter

Paul Thirlby

Tom Murray

Grant Thirlby

Laurie Manna

Lewis Thomas

Tom Nicholas


Sean Stevens

Ben Jenkins

Jacob Ninnes

bottom of page