top of page

Squad to take sting out of Hornets

St Ives has a strong squad to face lowly Newquay Hornets this Easter Monday. The front row, who did not have it all their own way against The Pirates Amateurs last week, remain, with Stuart Milliner ready to come off the bench. Luke Collins is set to play second row, releasing Todd Prisk to the flank. Cameron Bone returns. Man-of-the-match, Martyn Lawrance, continues his 100% appearance record. This pack should dominate proceedings to provide plenty of possession for the backs.

The three quarters have only one change. Grant Thirlby, suspended after being sent off, is replaced by Guy Pallett, who has been outstanding at wing forward. Lewis Thomas must see out his rest period after concussion at Tavistock.

The bench is completed by forwards coach, Louis Stevens, and Sean Stevens, who enjoyed an outing against Imperial Medics on Good Friday. It was pleasing to see St Ives able to field a young team to face The Medics, after some effort from various quarters. The event produced some entertaining rugby, for those supporters who attended, in bright, calm conditions. Monday’s weather is likely to more restrictive of open play. It will be a challenge for the home side to execute a game plan that leads to the intended result.

Key to The Hakes’ drive for promotion will be a bonus point win and a good points tally. This could prove crucial. The current difference between St Ives and Withycombe is just five. St Ives has 468 and Withycombe 463. Today’s fixture of interest, out of only two league games, is Paignton v Withycombe. The other match is Newquay v Pirates. Only once have The Hornets failed to field a side. This was for the long trip up to Paignton on December 12th. Last week they defeated fellow strugglers, Exeter Saracens, which will be an encouragement to them, although they remain rooted to the bottom of the table, albeit with two games in hand.

Kick-off is at 3:00pm. Remember, the clocks go forward one hour tonight. Your support would be welcomed.

The full squad is:

Jess Tompsett

Ben Taylor

Ben Jenkins

Jamie Prisk

Luke Collins

Cameron Bone

Todd Prisk

Martyn Lawrance

Sam Carter

Paul Thirlby

Tom Murray

Guy Pallett

Tom Nicholas

Peter Mabbott

Bobby Conroy-Smith

Sean Stevens

Louis Stevens

Stuart Milliner

bottom of page