top of page

Hakes Squad to Face Camels

After two matches against Truro, the club placed equal top of the league, this weekend gets no easier in its challenge. The Hakes face an away fixture with Wadebridge Camels, who are placed fifth.

In recent seasons, our opponents have had the upper hand, including a cricket score of 105 points the last time the sides met at Wadebridge in December of 2014. The teams have met rarely in the last ten years. Then it was in the South West One West league. This Saturday will be different.

Wadebridge have had few run away victories, but have managed to acquire seven wins from nine games. St Ives is able to send a solid looking squad onto the field, which, if they play to potential, should create scoring opportunities. Their defence, which held out for long periods in last weekend’s cup encounter, will need to be every bit as focussed tomorrow.

The front row has a familiar look, although the young and impressive James Bishop is unavailable for the first time this season. Jon Wright and Ben Jenkins are the only forwards with a 100% record. The second row is the partnership of Jamie Hoskin and Jake Clemson, with Tom Chandler and Jamie Prisk waiting in the wings. Harry Parton returns at No.8 after injury, as Archie Mackay is unavailable. Regulars Martyn Lawrance and Sean Stevens complete the back row.

At half back Sam Carter moves back to nine, with Paul Thirlby spear heading proceedings from stand-off. Joe Rouncefield has another outing on the wing. The other three quarter positions are as for the win against Truro two weeks ago.

The snap of cold and blustery weather on the exposed pitch beside the River Camel will play its part. The game might be tight and, if so, Jordan Gott’s kicking will be critical. He stands alone as the back that has featured in every match. The pack will need to secure enough ball to enable the backs to take advantage.

After the intensity of this and the matches against Truro, The Hakes can look forward to a potentially winning streak through to Christmas, with fixtures at home to Bude, Wellington and Devonport Services and an away tie with Crediton. This website and blog will keep you posted.

The full squad is: (2:30pm Kick off)

1. Ben Jenkin

2. Ben Taylor

3. Jon Wright

4. Jake Clemson

5. Jamie Hosking

6. Martyn Lawrance

7. Sean Stevens

8. Harry Parton

9. Sam Carter

10. Paul Thirlby

11. Joe Rouncefield

12. Steve Kenward

13. Tom Nicholas

14. Lewis Thomas

15. Jordan Gott

16. Liam Jolly

17. Tom Chandler

18. Jamie Prisk

bottom of page