top of page

Awards Presentation 2018-19

The annual awards presentation for the senior part of the club took place on Saturday 6th April. St Ives gained a bonus point victory in their final home match of the season against Hornets. This was followed by a hog roast and, in the early evening, the presentations were made.

The club recognises that once a trophy, cup, shield or bowl is returned by the recipient, there is no lasting memento of the award received. Therefore, recipients from 2018 received there mementos during the presentations, while this year’s winners were given a medal at the same time.

Below is a full list of recipients since 2016, with photos where possible.

  1. Top points scorer for the season presented by Cornwall RFU Chairman, Dennis Preece 2016 Grant Thirlby 240 2017 Jordan Gott 251 2018 Rhys Brownfield 201 2019 Dan Magee 160 (received by Tom Nicholas on behalf of Dan)

2. Top try scorer for the season presented by Bill Thomas 2016 Martyn Lawrance 21 2017 Martyn Lawrance 9 2018 Pete Mabbott 19 (Photo below) 2019 to be presented later

3. Secretary’s Cup for the most improved player presented by Joe Parma

2016 Ben Jenkins

2017 Tom Chandler

2018 Martyn Lawrance (photo below) 2019 Ben Watson

4. Lions Senior Trophy for the most promising senior player presented by Joe Parma 2016 Tom Nicholas 2017 2018 Chris Quick 2019 Liam Jolly

5. Chairman’s Trophy with thanks on behalf of the club presented by Andrew Baragwanath

2016 Joff Rowe

2017 Jo Stevens

2018 Russell Baragwanath

2019 Bill Thomas

6. The Sam Perkin Trophy for dedication to St Ives RFC presented by Danny Perkin

2016 Jess Tompsett

2017 Steve Kenward

2018 Ben Taylor

2019 Tom Nicholas

7. Pete Burgin Memorial Bowl for commitment to club and training presented by Ian Deacon

2016 Jamie Prisk

2017 Harry Parton

2018 Pete Mabbott

2019 Jamie Prisk

8. Harry Escott Cup for senior sportsman of the year presented by Atkins Ferrie Wealth Management

2016 Ben Taylor

2017 Tom Nicholas

2018 Jamie Prisk

2019 Ben Taylor

9.Senior Players’ Player - presented by Mike Rowe

2016 Louis Stevens

2017 Sean Stevens

2018 Rhys Brownfield (received by Jamie Prisk on behalf of Rhys)

2019 Ben Taylor

Special certificates from the RFU President were also awarded to:

Geoffrey and Susan Harry for cleaning and tidying the grounds.

Gary Beach for support with flags and post protectors every home game.

Alan Thomas for his dedication in regard to the website and programme.

bottom of page