top of page

Strong Squad Selected for Bude

St Ives faces their biggest challenge in the Cornwall & Devon league this season with the away trip to high flyers Bude. After two wins on the road, the home side will be playing at Bencoolen Meadow for the first time in a month. Of the eight league matches, only three have been at home. They have a points difference of virtually 55. Today, St Ives travel with four wins from five under their belt. This is very much a top of the table clash.

Injuries and availability have hit St Ives throughout the season. The squad for this match is as strong as any fielded to date.

The impressively weighty and powerful front row of Tompsett, Taylor (Capt.) and Jenkins gives the scrum a strong platform. All three consistently cross the gain line with ball in hand. When required, Ben Wheeler can come off the bench. For the first time this season Jamie Prisk is out of the starting line-up. New recruit, Jamie Hoskin, who had a praiseworthy debut last week, keeps his place. Needing all the experience they can muster, Louis Stevens returns. His presence will be crucial for the Hakes to stick to their game plan, especially in the absence of brother, Tony.

The back row sees Cameron Bone return from a rest last week at No.7. Sam Heath continues on the other flank, while ever present Martyn Lawrance is at No.8. Having Neil Corin on the bench gives the excellent cover. This means that Sean Stevens rests after four games in succession.

The three quarters have just one change from last week. Hard working Ryan Bishop makes way for speedy winger, Nathan Allen, out since a bad injury at Falmouth, makes his fifth appearance. Although short of match practice, head coach Paul Thirlby will be gambling that his pace and strength in attack and defence pay off. He has scored four tries in his four matches. All the backs will need to be at their best and try to avoid injury. There are none in the replacements.

Kick off at Bude is at 2:30pm. The full squad is

1 Jess Tompsett 2 Ben Taylor (Capt.)

3 Ben Jenkin

4 Jamie Hoskins

5 Louis Stevens

6 Sam Heath

7 Cameron Bone

8 Martyn Lawrence

9 Sam Carter 10 Paul Thirlby

11 Nathan Allen

12 Grant Thirlby

13 Tom Nicholas

14 Peter Mabbott

15 Lewis Thomas


16 Ben Wheeler 17 Jamie Prisk

18 Neil Corin

bottom of page