top of page

Team to Face Honiton Announced

The Hakes are able to put a strong squad onto the field for the Honiton match tomorrow. In spite of the potentially colder and blustery conditions, St Ives will be looking for a bonus point win to start the second half of the season. In recent home games they have shown a lot of progress in nearly all areas; fitness, discipline, handling skills, delivery of match plans. Spectators should expect an entertaining afternoon.

The pack has a settled look about it with no changes from the side picked to play at Paignton last week. Sam Heath will be hoping to stay injury free, having had such a frustrating time of it during the autumn. Tony and Louis once again bring depth to the squad. There is also a welcome return for Jamie Hoskin, who will be sure to get his opportunity to play at some point.

Head coach, Paul Thirlby, stands down now that Sam Carter returns from the wetlands of the Lake District. His half back partner is Grant Thirlby, who is showing good form in that position well called upon to do so in several matches recently.

There are no other changes in the backs from the team selected for the cancelled Paignton game, other than the return of speed merchant, Bobby Conroy-Smith, to the wing in place of Tom Murray.

This is one of Honiton’s longest trips and it must be a daunting one. They have notched up very few points on the road in a disappointing season. In 2011-12 they gained promotion to Western Counties West, but found the going tough. Now they are in a battle to keep out of Devon 1, which they have not seen since 2008-09. Both Bodmin and Exeter Saracens showed a lot of fighting spirit in the face of heavy defeats here at The Rec. Let’s hope that Honiton come with the same attitude and endeavour to create a good afternoon all round.

Kick-off is at 2:30p.m. The full squad is:

1 Jess Tompsett

2 Ben Taylor

3 Ben Jenkins

4 Jamie Prisk

5 Todd Prisk

6 Sam Heath

7 Cameron Bone

8 Martyn Lawrance

9 Sam Carter

10 Grant Thirlby

11 Peter Mabbott

12 Greg Loydall

13 Tom Nicholas

14 Bobby Conroy-Smith

15 Lewis Thomas


16 Tony Stevens

17 Louis Stevens

18 Jamie Hoskin

bottom of page